Harris County DA

¡Que Onda Magazine!

Houston's oldest bilingual publication

Governor Abbott Issues Disaster Declaration after Severe Weather Hits North Texas

On Monday, Gov. Greg Abbott issued a disaster declaration for 16 Texas counties in response to severe weather sustained across North Texas. The storm resulted in a tornado that knocked out power and caused severe damage.

The tornado touched down 9:30 p.m. Sunday. The National Weather Service confirmed the twister on Monday rated it as an EF-3 storm with winds of at least 140 mph.

The state-level disaster declaration, in addition to one signed by Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins, will “speed out of state resources” and assist electric company Oncor with debris removal and power line repair.

One of the key ways that the disaster declaration assists in restoring electricity is by waiving regulations that prohibit utility companies from using out-of-state resources.

Another aspect of a disaster declaration is it allows residents to apply for financial assistance. Homeowners and renters approved for disaster relief could receive temporary housing as well as funds for home and/or business repairs and rental assistance.

The declaration includes Cass, Cameron, Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Erath, Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Panola, Rains, Rockwall, Rusk, Tarrant, Van Zandt, and Wood counties.

Leave a Reply

Want to be in the know with
the latest Hispanic news?
Subscribe to our newsletter:

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

¡Que Onda Magazine! will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.